• fr
  • en

2 February

SHAPE artist announcement 2016 !


The Creative Europe-supported SHAPE platform for innovative music and audiovisual art is announcing its 2016 list of artists. The artist selection for the platform’s second year traditionally places a motley selection of audiovisual and sound projects.

Each year, the curational teams of all 16 SHAPE festivals and initiatives come together and choose 48 artists. SHAPE proposes to stand for European creation with additional emphasis on the inclusion of upcoming and underexposed artists.

On a musical side, you can find the Polish synthesizer musician Piotr Kurek and his dancefloor-oriented project Heroiny, next to Viennese bass clarinetist Susanna Gartmayer or the Brussels-based industrial techno duo Orphan Swords next to Norwegian vocalist and composer Stine Janvin Motland. This electisism is a deliberate desire from the SHAPE’s curators.

Emergence and outstanding label !

Despite a general interest to work with emergent artists, links to well-known independent music labels can be observed: the new roster includes Swedish electronic music composer Klara Lewis, whose debut album “Ett” was published by Editions Mego, Berlin-based producer M.E.S.H. whose first full-length of abstract grime “Piteous Gate” was published by PAN, the Warp-signed Jackson and Killing Sound, a quartet of British producers – all part of the Young Echo family – whose first two recordings have been put out by Blackest Ever Black.

The first SHAPE showcase of 2016 will occur at Berlin’s CTM festival (29.01.2016 – 07.02.2016), featuring Peder Mannerfelt, KABLAM, Charlotte Bendiks and T’ien Lai as well as SHAPE 2015 alumni Aisha Devi and Borusiade.


Full list of SHAPE artists for 2016 :

9th Cloud & Cyril Meroni (FR), Andi Stecher (AT), AntiVJ (INT), BAKK (NL), Buster Keaton (HU), Charlotte Bendiks (NO), Gil Delindro (PT/DE), Erased Bodies (IT), Gas of Latvia & Katr?na, Neiburga (LV), Heewon Lee (KR/FR), Hyperaktivist (VE/DE), Ignatz (BE), iii (INT), IVVVO (PT), Jackson (FR), Jakob Schneidewind (with projects Monochord or Demi Broxa) (AT), Jonáš Gruska (SK), Julien Bayle (FR), KABLAM (SE/DE), Killing Sound (UK), Klara Lewis (SE), Stara Rzeka (also with Kapital, T’ien Lai and other projects) (PL), Lanuk (HU), Laura Luna (MX/CZ), Lawrence Le Doux (BE), L’Ocelle Mare (FR), M.E.S.H. (DE), Mari Kvien Brunvoll (NO), Marta Heberle (PL), Masayoshi Fujita (JP), Nicolas Maigret (FR), Nik Nowak (also with project, Schockglatze) (DE), Nonotak (FR/JP), Orphan Swords (BE), Orson Hentschel (DE), Peder Mannerfelt (SE), Piotr Kurek (also with project Heroiny) (PL), Voiski/Polar Inertia (FR), Primitive Art (IT), Raze de Soare (RO), Spatial (UK), Stine Janvin Motland (NO), Susanna Gartmayer (also with projects Möström or Bödenauer/Gartmayer duo) (AT), Syracuse (FR), TeZ (IT), TOL? (CZ), We Will Fail (PL), Wo0 & Incredible Bob (RS)

SHAPE is a three-year initiative, co-funded by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union.

See more at :

Autres actualités

9 artists of European SHAPE platform for Maintenant 2017

SHAPE is a platform for innovative music and audiovisual art from Europe. It consists of 16 festivals and art centres and aims to support, promote and exchange innovative and aspiring musicians and interdisciplinary artists with an interest in sound. SHAPE …

Rokolectiv is coming and NSDOS joins SHAPE platform

Rokolectiv is coming and NSDOS joins SHAPE platform. April sees SHAPE – the Creative Europe supported platform for innovative music and audiovisual art – returning to concert-goers via the Rokolectiv festival in Romania (April 20 – 23), which will feature six performances …

SAVE THE DATE: Maintenant 2017

The next edition of Maintenant festival will take place from 10 to 15 October 2017.   Maintenant 2017 will be: innovative and poetic proposals exhibitions, performances, concerts and gigantic installations Demain! two days of meetings evolving around digital creativity international …