FR

France | Edition 2021 /

Emmanuelle Parrenin

© Philippe Lebruman

Emmanuelle Parrenin has always been a collector of sounds: she learned music in a clandestine and instinctive way by reproducing on a piano the melodies she hears escaping from the various rehearsal rooms of the family home, where music resonates from everywhere: her father directs the Parrenin Quartet, and her mother is a harp teacher.

In the 1970s, she continued her unconventional relationship with music and sounds by going on the road, in France and Canada, to collect, with an audio recorder on her shoulder, tunes and traditional songs. She continues her exploration of the sounds of the past by rediscovering instruments then fallen into oblivion: the spruce, the hurdy-gurdy and later the harp, which she taught herself. It thus contributes to the emergence of the folk movement in France.

In 1978, she released “Maison rose”, her first solo album, which played with all borders and styles, and which constituted a turning point in her musical and artistic career. It combines ten years of folk journey and exploration of traditional sounds. She then collaborated with the Baschet brothers, Jacques Rémus and Bruno Menny (student of Xénakis).

In 1990, following a serious accident, she goes deaf. Modern medicine being powerless, she managed to heal by rehabilitating her ears through the sounds of her voice and the resonance of its instruments. Learning from this experience, she turned to healing music and music therapy and created Maïeuphonie, which she practiced for fifteen years in children’s institutes and psychiatric hospitals and teaches regularly at the International Center for Music Therapy.

The 2000s marked the return to experimental music and the song. She met many musicians around the collective-record label “Les Disques Bien”, with whom in 2011, thirty years after “Maison rose”, she recorded “Maison cube”. From there she meets electronic music and collaborates with artists like Etienne Jaumet, Vincent Segal, Pierre Bastien, Tomoko Sauvage, Didier Petit, or Zombie Zombie.

emmanuelleparrenin.com

Others artists

Markos Kay

Cyprus / United Kingdom

EN

France | Edition 2021 / 2023 /

Emmanuelle Parrenin

© Philippe Lebruman

Emmanuelle Parrenin a toujours été une collecteuse de sons : elle apprend la musique de façon clandestine et instinctive en reproduisant sur un piano les mélodies qu’elle entend s’échapper des différents salons de répétition de la maison familiale, où la musique résonne de partout : son père dirige le Quatuor Parrenin, et sa mère est professeure de harpe.

Dans les années 70, elle poursuit cette relation buissonnière à la musique et aux sons en partant sur les routes, en France et au Canada, pour collecter, enregistreur audio à l’épaule, des airs et des chants traditionnels. Elle poursuit son exploration des sonorités du passé en redécouvrant des instruments alors tombés dans l’oubli : l’épinette, la vielle et plus tard la harpe, qu’elle apprend en autodidacte. Elle contribue ainsi à l’émergence du mouvement folk en France.

En 1978, elle sort Maison rose, son premier album solo, qui joue de toutes les frontières et de tous les styles, et qui constitue un tournant dans son parcours musical et artistique. Il fait la synthèse de dix ans de parcours folk et d’exploration des sonorités traditionnelles. Elle collabore alors avec les frères Baschet, Jacques Rémus et Bruno Menny (élève de Xénakis).

En 1990, suite à un grave accident, elle devient sourde. La médecine moderne étant impuissante, elle guérit en rééduquant ses oreilles par les sons de sa voix et la résonance de ses instruments. A partir de cette expérience, elle se tourne vers les musiques de guérison et la musicothérapie et crée la Maïeuphonie, qu’elle exerce pendant quinze ans dans des instituts et des hôpitaux psychiatriques pour enfants et enseigne régulièrement au Centre International de Musicothérapie. 

Les années 2000 marquent le retour à la musique expérimentale et à la chanson. Elle rencontre de nombreux musicien.ne.s autour du collectif-maison de disques les Disques Bien, avec lesquels en 2011, trente ans après Maison rose, elle enregistre Maison cube. A partir de là, elle rencontre les musiques électroniques et collabore avec des artistes comme Etienne Jaumet, Vincent Segal, Pierre Bastien, Tomoko Sauvage, Didier Petit, ou encore Zombie Zombie.

emmanuelleparrenin.com

Autres artistes

Nien-Tzu Weng

Taiwan / Canada