FR

France

Paul Duncombe

© Hugo Renard

Paul Duncombe is a visual artist and winner of the COAL 2020 prize. He explores the different scales of the landscape through a singular reflection on the interactions between human beings and nature. His successive researches, on the Labrador ice floes, the storms of the Celtic Sea, the boreal forests, or the irradiated lands of Fukushima, aim at the contingent mechanisms that link these vast territories with the creatures that develop there and the infinitesimal elements that compose them. 

Starting with photographic work in situ and then a series of methodical experiments conducted in the studio or laboratory, his projects put the apparent simplicity of the works of nature in relation to the increasing technicality of modern society. From simple gestures to the most complex monumental installations, between performances, minimal sculptures and on-site interventions, his work crosses borders and disciplines. 

A 2014 graduate of the École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Paris, Paul Duncombe develops and exhibits numerous projects in France and abroad: COAL Prize (Paris, 2020), Nemo Biennial (Le 104, Paris, 2020), ]interstice[ (Caen, 2019 & 2018), Unicorn Center for Art (Beijing, 2018), Salon de Montrouge (Paris, 2018), Palais de Tokyo (Paris, 2017), Jeune Création (Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac, Paris, 2016), Avatar (Coopérative Méduse, Quebec, 2015), Kyoto Art Center (Kyoto, 2012).

 

Others artists

EN

France

Paul Duncombe

© Hugo Renard

Plasticien et lauréat du prix COAL 2020, Paul Duncombe explore les différentes échelles du paysage à travers une réflexion singulière portée sur les interactions entre les êtres humains et la nature. Ses recherches successives, sur les banquises du Labrador, les tempêtes en mer Celtique, les forêts boréales, ou encore les terres irradiées de Fukushima, visent les mécanismes contingents qui lient ces vastes territoires avec les créatures qui s’y développent et les éléments infinitésimaux qui les composent.

À partir d’un travail photographique in situ puis de séries d’expérimentations méthodiques conduites en atelier ou en laboratoire, ses projets mettent alors en relation la simplicité apparente des œuvres de la nature avec la technicité croissante des sociétés modernes. Du simple geste aux installations monumentales les plus complexes, entre performances, sculptures minimales et interventions sur site, son travail traverse les frontières et les disciplines. 

Diplômé de l’École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Paris en 2014, Paul Duncombe développe et expose de nombreux projets en France et à l’étranger : Prix COAL (Paris, 2020), Biennale Némo (Le 104, Paris, 2020), ]interstice[ (Caen, 2019 & 2018), Unicorn Center for Art (Beijing, 2018), Salon de Montrouge (Paris, 2018), Palais de Tokyo (Paris, 2017), Jeune Création (Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac, Paris, 2016), Avatar (Coopérative Méduse, Québec, 2015), Kyoto Art Center (Kyoto, 2012).

paulduncombe.com

Autres artistes

Tryphème

France

S8jfou

France