FR

Spain | Edition 2022 /

Marina Herlop

© Anxo Casal

Conservatory trained composer, vocalist and pianist Marina Herlop began her career by giving a contemporary flair to compositions from Debussy and Chopin, tipping her hat to the canons of the romantic era. 

Her first album, Nanook (2016), relied heavily on her classical training. For her second opus Babasha (2018), Marina Herlop started to integrate synths and assorted electronic sounds. With Pripyat (2022), her debut album for the avant-garde Berlin label PAN, has broadened her range of sonic tools to the decidedly more cybernetic aspect of music. The hypnotic continuum of her early compositions clashes and grows through alien rhythms, layers of processed vocals and organic flourishes.

Drawing inspiration from South India’s Carnatic music and with piano still very much at the core of her music, Pripyat nonetheless marked Marina Herlop’s irrevocable transition into electronic music. Resisting any attempts at reinterpreting her own work, Marina Herlop prefers to craft multifaceted worlds that spur and feed the imagination. The first two singles have already garnered rave reviews in media such as Pitchfork and Fact Magazine. Her work was & will featured at a number of high-profile events such as Primavera Sound, WOS, MIRA, Rewire, Dekmantel, Primavera Sound or at the Barbican in London.

Others artists

Sherelle

United Kingdom

S8jfou

France

Ralf Baecker

Germany

EN

Espagne

Marina Herlop

© Anxo Casal

Compositrice, chanteuse et pianiste formée au conservatoire, Marina Herlop a commencé sa carrière en donnant une touche contemporaine à des compositions de Debussy et de Chopin, tout en tirant son chapeau aux canons de l’ère romantique. 

Son premier album, Nanook (2016), s’appuie largement sur sa formation classique. Pour son deuxième opus, Babasha (2018), Marina Herlop a commencé à intégrer des synthés et divers sons électroniques. Avec Pripyat (2022), son premier album signé sur le label avant-gardiste berlinois PAN, elle élargi sa gamme d’outils sonores pour aller vers une dimension résolument plus cybernétique de la musique. Le continuum hypnotique de ses premières compositions s’entrechoque et se développe à travers des rythmes étrangers, des couches de voix traitées et des fioritures organiques.

S’inspirant de la musique carnatique de l’Inde du Sud, avec un piano toujours au cœur de ses compositions, Pripyat marque néanmoins la transition de Marina Herlop vers la musique électronique. Résistant à toute tentative de réinterprétation de son propre travail, Marina Herlop crée des mondes à multiples facettes qui stimulent et nourrissent l’imagination. Les deux premiers extraits ont d’ores-et-déjà accumulé des critiques élogieuses dans des médias tels que Pitchfork ou Fact Magazine. Son travail a été et sera présenté lors d’un certain nombre d’événements tels que WOS, Mutek, MIRA, Rewire, Dekmantel, Primavera Sound ou encore au Barbican à Londres.

Autres artistes

Ralf Baecker

Allemagne

Sabrina Ratté

Québec - Canada