FR

Maintenant 2020 ► Joanie Lemercier’s unexpected projections

Publish on 24 November 2020

Joanie Lemercier was present throughout the festival to exhibit the immersive work Brume and the visual identity Art & Activism co-created with Pierre Vanni. As part of the Ambivalences series of conferences, he also participated in a round table discussion and talked about his relationship to digital artistic creation and the environmental emergency. The visual artist from Rennes took advantage of his visit to highlight the architecture of his hometown.

 

An activist and artistic approach 

Joanie Lemercier first explores video mapping, geometry, nature and light with the European collective AntiVJ. Then, he develops his willingness to free himself from the screen. For a few years, the artist from Rennes has been interested in the largest coal mine in Europe: Hambach, near Brussels. His experience with the mine and the activists fighting there has turned out to be a decisive point in his artistic practice. Joanie Lemercier participates in civil disobedience actions with the climate organization Ende Gelände by making projections on the mine site. 


© Joanie Lemercier

For these actions, Joanie Lemercier uses a battery-powered gobo projector for easy portability. However, this requires the artist to work with a fixed image where his practice has led him to privilege moving images.

 

Appropriation and transmission

Within the framework of the Ambivalences conferences, Joanie is meeting with the students of the Master DPAN (Management of Audiovisual and Digital Projects) of the University of La Rochelle, to produce a video format dedicated to the presentation of her career, her projects, her commitment and her reflections in connection with the climate emergency and the environmental cause:

Following this meeting, the artist and activist invites them to accompany him for a performance of spontaneous projections. A moment of exchange where he transmits his experience and his relationship to the image and the framing. On the occasion of the 20th edition of Maintenant festival, he hijacks the sphere created for the visual identity to reenchant the urban space.

Previous
Next

All the pictures

Projections Sauvages, Joanie Lemercier

With the support of Wallonie-Bruxelles International and Centre Wallonie-Bruxelles/Paris – in the frame of the programming cycle: Hors-Les-Murs Constellations.

Pictures © Gwendal Le Flem

Last news

All news

EN

Maintenant 2020 ► Les projections impromptues de Joanie Lemercier

Publié le 24 novembre 2020

Joanie Lemercier était présent sur toute la durée du festival, pour exposer l’œuvre immersive Brume et l’identité visuelle Art & Activisme co-créée avec Pierre Vanni. Dans le cadre du cycle de conférences Ambivalences, il est également intervenu sur une table-ronde et évoqué son rapport à la création artistique numérique et l’urgence environnementale. L’artiste visuel originaire de Rennes a pu profiter de sa venue pour mettre en lumière l’architecture de sa ville natale.

 

Une démarche activiste et artistique  

Joanie Lemercier explore d’abord le mapping vidéo, la géométrie, la nature et la lumière avec le collectif européen AntiVJ. Il développe alors sa volonté de s’affranchir de l’écran. Depuis quelques années, l’artiste rennais s’intéresse à la plus grande mine de charbon d’Europe : Hambach à proximité de Bruxelles. Sa rencontre avec la mine et les activistes qui y luttent s’est révélée être un tournant dans sa pratique artistique. Joanie Lemercier participe à des actions de désobéissance civile avec l’organisation pour le climat Ende Gelände en réalisant des projections sur le site minier. 


© Joanie Lemercier

Joanie Lemercier utilise pour ces actions un projecteur gobo sur batterie qui facilite son transport. Cependant, cela contraint l’artiste à travailler une image fixe là où sa pratique l’a amené à privilégier les images en mouvement. 

 

Détournement et transmission

Dans le cadre des conférences Ambivalences, Joanie s’entretient avec les étudiant.e.s du Master DPAN (Direction de Projets Audiovisuels et Numériques) de l’Université de La Rochelle, pour réaliser un format vidéo dédié à la présentation de son parcours, ses projets, son engagement et ses réflexions en lien avec l’urgence climatique et la cause environnementale :

Suite à cette rencontre, l’artiste et activiste les invite à l’accompagner pour une performance de projections impromptues. Un moment de partage où il transmet son expérience et son rapport à l’image et au cadrage. À l’occasion de la 20ème édition du festival Maintenant, il détourne la sphère créée pour l’identité visuelle pour réenchanter l’espace urbain.

Précédent
Suivant

Toutes les images

Projections Sauvages, Joanie Lemercier

Avec le soutien de Wallonie-Bruxelles International et Centre Wallonie-Bruxelles/Paris – dans le cadre du cycle: Hors-Les-Murs Constellations.

Photos © Gwendal Le Flem

Dernières actualités

Toutes les actualités