FR

Manicouagan – Conference

Paul Duncombe

Free

Saturday, October 8th, 2022

3:30pm to 4:30pm

Les Champs Libres

En savoir plus sur le lieu

Free

Manicouagan – Conference

Paul Duncombe is a visual artist and winner of the COAL 2020 prize. He explores the different scales of the landscape through a singular reflection on the interactions between human beings and nature. His successive researches, on the Labrador ice floes, the storms in the Celtic Sea, the boreal forests, or the irradiated lands of Fukushima, aim at the contingent mechanisms that link these vast territories with the creatures that develop there and the infinitesimal elements that compose them. On October 8 at Les Champs Libres, the artist will give a lecture about the exhibition Manicouagan. presented at the CCNRB from October 6 to 9, 2022.

The Manicouagan Project is an initiative with multiple ramifications: it is an expedition to the eponymous crater, a meeting of different artistic and scientific disciplines, an investigation of the territory and local cultures, as well as a collection of information and data on a site that is still little known.

Nicknamed the Eye of Quebec, this immense space located on the ancestral territory of the Innu nation, is since 2003 a World Biosphere Reserve (UNESCO) where the Uapishka scientific station is located and which shelters a unique fauna, flora and geological particularities.

This conference is offered in partnership with Les Champs Libres as part of the Fête de la science (October 7 – 17, 2022).

Coproduction : Sporobole, Station Mir / Festival ]interstice[, La Tonne, Stereolux/Scopitone, Electroni[k]/ Maintenant

Supported by : Canada Council for the Arts (CCA), Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec (CALQ), Consulate General of France in Quebec City, Institut FrançaisRégion Normandie

Partnerships (territory) : Innu Council of PessamitUapishka Station

Partnerships (science): François Girard / Université de Montréal (UdeM), Richard Fournier / Université de Sherbrooke (UdS), André Arsenault / Canadian Forest Service (CFS)

Caveats: An ecological reserve is a territory that is not accessible to the public, except with an authorization for research, scientific or educational activities. The Manicouagan Project has been authorized by the Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change

Winner of the COAL 2020 award

In pictures

EN

Manicouagan – Conférence

Paul Duncombe

Gratuit

Samedi 8 octobre 2022

15:30 à 16:30

Les Champs Libres

En savoir plus sur le lieu

Gratuit

Manicouagan – Conférence

Plasticien et lauréat du prix COAL 2020, Paul Duncombe explore les différentes échelles du paysage à travers une réflexion singulière portée sur les interactions entre les êtres humains et la nature. Ses recherches successives, sur les banquises du Labrador, les tempêtes en mer Celtique, les forêts boréales, ou encore les terres irradiées de Fukushima, visent les mécanismes contingents qui lient ces vastes territoires avec les créatures qui s’y développent et les éléments infinitésimaux qui les composent. Le 8 octobre au Champs Libres, l’artiste donne une conférence autour de l’exposition Manicouagan. présentée au CCNRB du 6 au 9 octobre 2022.

Le Projet Manicouagan est une initiative aux multiples ramifications : c’est une expédition au cratère éponyme, une rencontre de différentes disciplines artistiques et scientifiques, une investigation du territoire et des cultures locales, ainsi qu’une collecte d’informations et de données sur un site encore méconnu.

Surnommé l’œil du Québec, cet immense espace situé sur le territoire ancestral de la nation Innue, est depuis 2003 une réserve mondiale de la biosphère (UNESCO) où se trouve la station scientifique Uapishka qui abrite une faune, une flore et des particularités géologiques uniques.


Cette conférence est proposée en partenariat avec Les Champs Libres dans le cadre de la Fête de la science (7 – 17 octobre 2022).


Coproduction : Sporobole, Station Mir / Festival ]interstice[, La Tonne, Stereolux/Scopitone, Electroni[k]/ Maintenant

Soutiens : Conseil des Arts du Canada (CAC), Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec (CALQ), Consulat Général de France à Québec, Institut Français, Région Normandie

Partenariats (territoire) : Conseil des Innus de Pessamit, Station Uapishka

Partenariats (science) : François Girard / Université de Montréal (UdeM), Richard Fournier / Université de Sherbrooke (UdS), André Arsenault / Service Canadien des Forêts (SCF)

Avertissements : Une réserve écologique est un territoire qui n’est pas accessible au public, sauf avec une autorisation pour la réalisation d’une activité de recherche, scientifique ou éducative. Le Projet Manicouagan a bénéficié d’une autorisation du Ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les Changements Climatiques


En images